Editing Character Textures for Lazy Louts, and the Technically Inept(like me!)

First off, I mean absolutely no offense by the above post.

I had a lot of help(sorry!!) successfully editing textures with the great tools provided by idolninja, Scanti etc. Since I was planning on documenting this process in it's entirety for myself, I thought I would write a tutorial on editing textures from the ground up for total beginners or people looking for a quick dive into modding this game before really delving into the documentation for more Details.

Files to download (See mod tools section of this forum):
-----------------------
-Gibbed SR3
-SR3TextureUtilities
-Image Editing tool that can use .dds images (I'm an artist and own photoshop, but I saw a post that indicated that you can use gimp, a free opensource image editing program)

Instructions:
--------------------

-- PART 1: Extracting the image files --

1. All of the texture files in Saints Row 3 are compressed into a .vpp_pc file. You will have to extract them from the file customize_item.vpp_pc. Go to:
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\saints row the third\packfiles\pc\cache

2. drag customize_item.vpp_pc on top of the Gibbed.SaintsRow3.UnpackVPP.exe (part of gibbed SR3 tools mentioned above)
-this will unpack the files into a folder called customize_item in same directory as the file you just dragged.

3. Inside that folder, there are several files with the .cmorph_pc extension, and several files with the prefix custmesh. these files with the prefix custmesh are the files that contain the textures for each item above. I will edit this after making a batch script for to extract all custmesh items, but for the time being you're going to want to extract every custmesh file to find the texture of the item you are looking to edit. (see next step)