Scripting for dummies Eng-Ru

If you are programmer and read IdolNinja's article "How to run a custom SRIV gameplay script", maybe you got more that enough information how to create new cool scripts.
But if you're just a dummy like me, maybe you only understand how to activate the dynamic time of day after the end of the story missions. So I write this article for you

Warning: I studied only turbo basic in school and my knowledge of English is lame, the knowledge of the scripting is obtained by studying the code of other mods

To begin with, we need
Notepad++ with setting Language - Lua
fully unpacked game for examples (recommended)
Full list of functions for Saints row the third

Why for the third? Because unfortunately Volition did not provide the same list for the 4th . The most functions work, some require different arguments, some do not work at all.

NOTE: in Saints row 4 argument "#PLAYER1#" was changed to LOCAL_PLAYER, and "#PLAYER2#" to REMOTE_PLAYER

Saints row IV is using a simple scripting language for programming named LUA, the language is not difficult for beginners and it can be learned even on the official site https://www.lua.org/ but with utilizing the gained knowledge for creating mods there can be some problems.

The minimum set of knowledge for modding SR4

NOTE: better read article on wiki or somewhere else than my stupid explanation

Variable
It's a cell, a memory area with some name where you can write and read information, the information that is written into it is divided into types
  • number, yeah simple number
    Code:
    my_number_varible = 777
  • string with a text, the text is quoted
    Code:
    my_string_variable ="This is my string variable"
  • and a Boolean variable, it can have only two values true or false
    Code:
    my_boolean_variable = true