Iggy's Lighting Misadventures(and attempts at optimization)

"I thought this was going to be easy" I thought to myself. Oh... what a fool I was.

For the past few days I have been poking around the files of the PC version of Saints Row 2. You see, the xenia(Xbox 360) emulator had a recent update that significantly improved performance. One of those games being none other than Saints Row 2. With it rendering nearly everything perfectly, except for light coronas which seems to clip through geometry. I started taking loads of screenshots of Saints Row 2 both of xenia and the PC port. Shortly afterwards I started playing a game of spot-the-difference between the two. That is when I noticed something that caught my eye. Saints Row 2 on PC has more shadow maps than the console counterpart. Not only that but the areas that had additional shadows was where the frame rate dipped. "Hmmmmm... am I on to something?" I thought to myself. I quickly googled various terms to see if anybody else noticed this and from my results the answer was no.

PC screenshot above, xenia screenshot below:
pcshadows.png
consoleshadows.png