Why Volition's LUA scripting is so limited?

I am not programmer so correct me if I am wrong. When I investigated mission files I found that not so much was controlled by LUA
There are dialog conversation, checkpoints and UI mainly. One thing that really disappointed me that you can't control car and characters spawn. It's looks like they was placed manually and then baked to chz file. There is no global variables for every car and character, for every mission there are new local variable that was prescribed in zone file. Also I think that many actions are hardcoded and you don't have any access to them with LUA.

I don't work at Volition, but I am a programmer and I have worked with the LUA scripts and Knobby a bit, so I'll give my best answer from what I've learned:

The LUA scripts are used to make it easy for the mission designers to build and modify missions quickly without going through a whole compile and build of the system. Most of the system is written in the C++ language, which is a compiled language that requires a build phase whenever a change is made. C++ is a much more complex language to learn and become proficient at, and if written incorrectly it can easily break the entire system. C++ runs much faster than LUA, which is why it is used for any real-time aspects of the system (e.g. graphics streaming and AI). But LUA is simple and can be written by fairly inexperienced programmers, which makes it easier for mission designers to work with. So the C++ developers provide a limited set of functions to the LUA programmers so they can do only what they NEED to do in order to write missions, and no more than that. Since LUA runs much slower than C++, they try to keep as much in C++ as possible. The C++ part is the "hardcoded" part you mentioned.